Reckless Driving FAQ

Answers To Common Questions About Reckless Driving In Virginia

You are driving through the roads of beautiful Virginia enjoying the scenery when, suddenly, you see the lights of a Virginia state trooper or county deputy.

You realize you are being pulled over for driving too fast.

Maybe you know you are driving a little over the limit. However, when you are handed your ticket, you realize you have been given a summons to appear in court for Reckless Driving! You have many questions.

How many points does reckless driving carry?

6 points in the Virginia DMV system. If you can get the offense level reduced to a regular speeding offense — not reckless driving — you should be able to lower the demerit points assessed against you.

Is reckless driving a pre-payable offense?

No. Most regular speeding ticket infractions are prepayable, but reckless driving is not. In fact, reckless driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor — a criminal offense!

What is the fine for a reckless driving conviction in Virginia?

Virginia law allows courts discretion on assessing the fine. For Class 1 misdemeanors, the law allows a fine of not more than $2,500 and confinement in jail for not more than twelve months, either or both. Some courts may impose a fine of $6 per mile over the limit. Other assess a $150, $250, $500, $1,000 or higher fine.

Will the demerit points for reckless driving conviction transfer out of state?

Very possibly. Due to an interstate compact that Virginia has with other states, there is a good chance your demerit points will transfer to the state that issued your driver's license.

Will I go to jail for reckless driving in Virginia?

Some courts throughout Virginia regularly impose jail time if you are found driving over 90 miles per hour. Some courts have a somewhat higher threshold. Every case is unique, however, so outcomes will vary.

What if I was ticketed on the Blue Ridge Parkway or other federal road?

Many federal speeding and related traffic tickets in the Western District of Virginia are handled on the once-monthly petty offense docket in the Roanoke, Virginia, federal building. Whether you need a lawyer will depend on how the officer writes your ticket.

Surprised to realize how seriously Virginia treats reckless driving cases?

Your job, your freedom, your insurance premiums payments and more are on the line.

Hiring an attorney with experience, knowledge of the laws and defenses available to charges related to reckless driving and licensing is very important. A lawyer can often reduce your consequences.

Need Legal Help?

I am Craig Tiller, an attorney trying traffic and criminal cases in Virginia courts and federal court for 25 years. If you are charged with reckless driving anywhere in central Virginia, I can help you.

Call 434-338-7093 today.