Brand
Top Lawyers 2019
Serving central Virginia For more than 25 years: 434-338-7093
Brand
Top Lawyers 2019
Serving central Virginia For more than 25 years:
434-338-7093

Trusted, Experienced Lawyer
Offering Personalized Guidance
From Start To Finish

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Motor Vehicle Accidents
  4.  » How long do I have to file a car accident claim in Virginia?

How long do I have to file a car accident claim in Virginia?

On Behalf of | Sep 4, 2021 | Motor Vehicle Accidents | 1 comment

Being involved in a car accident can leave you severely distraught and traumatized. From potential injuries to property damage and the subsequent chaos, dealing with the aftermath of a car crash can be a tough process. And the realization that the accident is a direct result of someone’s negligence does not make things any better. 

If you have sustained injuries and property damage as a result of someone else’s negligence, you may need to file a claim against the at-fault party for compensation for your losses. If you’re lucky, the claim will settle without further action.

What happens, however, if you have to sue? How long do you have to decide if that’s the route you want to take?

The statute of limitations is 2 years

If you are unable to resolve the matter directly with the at-fault party or their insurance provider, you may need to consider filing a lawsuit. But before taking this route, it is important that understand the statute of limitations in Virginia.

In the state of Virginia, you have exactly two years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault party. If settlement negotiations drag on, you have to file your lawsuit within that two-year period or you lose the right to make a claim forever.

The aftermath of a car accident can be quite complicated and confusing. If you have suffered injuries or property damage following a car wreck, it is important that you know understand the time limits involved. Seeking experienced guidance is often wise.